Skip to content

Illuminated Names

September 15, 2011

I usually do an Illuminated Name project at the start of the school year with 4th grade.  We talk about the history of Illuminated Initials from the Middle Ages and I show a few examples of work.  As motivation for the class, I also do my own and hang it up.  It is always fun to see how each student morphs the letters of their names into objects and animals.

A few years ago, I made a name design for a friend and fellow teacher as a Christmas gift.  After that, it has become a fun way to brighten a fellow staff members day.  I really enjoy doing it, and the students love watching the transformation.  I made two this week and have a couple more to make.  Pretty soon, everyone in the school will have one!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Katherine Haley permalink
    October 1, 2011 1:10 pm

    Whoa! Thats really cool.

  2. March 1, 2012 1:29 pm

    I love your art!!

  3. harshitha permalink
    July 19, 2015 1:07 am

    i want my name also in that within 5 minutes for project pleaseeeeee

Leave a Reply

