Skip to content

Zentangles

January 5, 2011

Alexix, Mrs. Lee"s Class

Chase, Mrs. Lavoie"s Class

J-Lyn

Welcome to 2011!  My mind has been in overdrive over the last few days, thinking about all the new ideas I have and how to implement my New Year’s resolution.  My resolution is to try and blog once a week……..or at least to try and do that.  I have decided that Tuesdays will be my blogging day.  Although, I am already a day behind!  I also have a personal blog that I plan to try and do the same with…..any volunteers to be my task master???

Back in November, my second graders learned about Zentangles.  I have been creating my own Zentangles for a while now and thought it was a great activity to use with my younger students.  A Zentangle is a drawing made of repetitive patterns.  You start with a few tangle lines and then fill the spaces with patterns.  The Zen part comes from the ability to create with out doing it wrong.  There isn’t an exact outcome, the process is what is important.  This drawing activity helps engage our creativity and focus and is fun!  The end result is unexpected and exciting!

If you haven’t tried to make your own all you need is a pen and a piece of paper.  We used square pieces of paper, but you can do it in any format.  You make a dot in each corner and then connect the dots to make a frame.  Draw three or four lines across the space making sure they touch two sides.  Then have fun filling in the spaces created by your tangle lines with patterns!

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Meg permalink
    January 5, 2011 8:19 pm

    I’ve been experimenting with this too! They are very fun and I love how there is no wrong way to do them!

Leave a Reply

