Skip to content

AES Artroom

September 2, 2010

This is my room at Andover Elementary School.  I share this room with the music teacher and instrumental music.  It is pretty great to have a space that I can store my materials and keep a well organized space that I don’t have to set up every Tuesday when I arrive at the school.  The room has great natural light that is so wonderful.  The day  took this picture, we had temperatures of 90+ degrees so the shades were pulled down.  When I first started with the district, I was in a corner of the gym with a cabinet that held most of my materials and was wheeled in for art class.  There were windows but they were up high and very small.  Also the lights were terrible and made an annoying humming sound.  Often times it was hard to tell the difference between blue and green, that is how horrible the lighting was.  So you won’t ever hear me complain about my current space.

The shelves under the marker board hold the free drawing tools.  When a student finishes a project they are allowed to get paper and drawing tools to use quietly at his or her seat.  I also have my painting materials on the shelves and as you can see my paper and larger paint bottles are on the shelves behind the desk.  The rest of my materials are stored in a cabinet that you cannot see in the pictures.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sara Shifrin permalink
    October 6, 2010 8:31 pm

    I love the site and the idea of children getting a chance to be published! It gives their work an audience beyond the class and the teacher. What an important part of learning. Great blog and THANKS!

    • October 15, 2010 9:48 am

      Thanks Sara! Glad you were able to visit the blog!

Leave a Reply

